Home Programme Online Speaker Profiles Exhibition / Sponsorship Registration Fees Register Online

Speaker Profiles

Professor Stephen Harding,  University of Nottingham

Professor Harding has been director of the NCMH (National Centre for Macromolecular Hydrodynamics) for the last 24 years, a period which has seen hydrodynamic methods (analytical ultracentrifugation, light scattering, viscometry etc.) come from almost oblivion to fluorish as tools for biomolecular characterisation. He has published over 350 research papers and 10 books in the field of biomolecular hydrodynamics and applied biochemistry, assisted by grants in which he has been PI totalling over £5M. In recognition he received a junior medal from the Royal Society of Chemistry in 1991 and a DSc from the University of Oxford in 2002.

In 2010 he gave the prestigious annual Pfizer lecture at the University of Connecticut. Although he has contributed extensively towards our understanding of the hydrodynamic properties of proteins his main area has been on polysaccharides and glycoconjugates, and in developing methods for understanding their size distributions, conformations and interactions. His current focus is on biopolymer stability in response to bioprocessing, of particular interest to the Biopharma industry where he now draws much of his support.



Dr Barry Moore,  Xstalbio

Dr Barry Moore studied at the University of Nottingham gaining a First Class Honours BSc in Chemistry in 1982.

He carried out his PhD under the supervision of Prof Jim Turner FRS and Prof Martyn Poliakoff FRS also at Nottingham developing a time-resolved infrared spectrometer for study of transient metal carbonyl species and graduated in 1985.  

Following post-doctoral research with Prof John Osborn, University of Louis Pasteur in Strasbourg, France and with Prof Chris Lowe at the Institute of Biotechnology, University of Cambridge he was being appointed to a Lectureship in Physical Chemistry at Strathclyde in 1990 and subsequently promoted to Reader.

Dr Moore's research is focused in the areas of biophysical chemistry and self assembly with particular emphasis on stabilization and characterization of enzymes under low water conditions, nanostructured materials, biomolecular imprinting and the spectroscopy and formulation of biopharmaceuticals. 

In 2005 he and Prof Peter Halling were involved with the successful bid for the Centre for Excellence in  Biocatalysis, Biotransformations and Biomanufacture (CoEBio3) which has a main centre at University of Manchester with Satellites in Strathclyde, Heriot-Watt and York.

This recognized the expertise at Strathclyde in biophysical characterization and optimisation of biocatalysts for use in non-conventional media.   

His invention with Dr MC Parker of a generic self-assembly method for coating peptides, proteins, nucleic acids, and nanoparticles onto the surface of water-soluble microcrystals led to the founding of the spin-out company XstalBio Ltd (external link) to commercialise the technology.

The company specializes in the formulation and delivery of biopharmaceuticals and is working with major pharmaceutical, vaccine and biotechnology companies from Europe and the US.

In his role as Chief Scientist, Dr Moore has directed the research and development at XstalBio and built up a strong IP portfolio which includes granted patents in Europe, US, China, India and Japan. XstalBio sponsor a Senior Industrial Fellowship for Dr Moore to support his work at Strathclyde in the area of Physical Organic Chemistry.

Dr Moore's expertise in biopharmaceutical formulation was recognized by his election as scientific secretary of the European Association of Pharma Biotech (EAPB) in 2007 and his appointment in 2006 as a Chair of the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences Focus Group on Therapeutic Biomolecules and Vaccines.

In these roles he has served on the scientific committees of conferences and workshops held in the UK, Europe and US.



Dr Andrei Soliakov,  Newcastle University






Dr Ivana Fenoglio,  Torino



Jan Jecek,  Arecor



Professor Jayne Lawrence,  Kings College, University of London

Jayne is Professor and Head of the Pharmaceutical Biophysics Group in the Institute of Pharmaceutical Science, King’s College London (King’s) and Chief Scientific Advisor at the Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS). At the RPS she is responsible for science and research and performs a variety of roles including liasing with other scientific organisations, ensuring that the RPS is up to date with the latest developments in science and research, and promoting the Society to outside organisations.

At King’s Jayne’s research has focussed on improving the delivery of drugs and genes using a range of advanced analytical techniques including neutron scattering, which Jayne pioneered the use of in pharmaceutical science. Jayne sits on a number of national pharmaceutical committees including the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences, the United Kingdom and Ireland Controlled Release Society and the Joint Pharmaceutical Analysis Group.

An event jointly organised by: